In case there was any doubt, Utah does indeed require that vehicles have valid insurance. The law is found in U.C.A. 41-12a-303.2. As the driver of the vehicle, it is your responsibility to ensure that the vehicle is indeed insured. This includes those situations in which a "friend" lets you borrow their car and assures you the car is insured. If it turns out your "friend" hasn't been completely honest with you, it is still going to be a problem for you for a couple of reasons.
The first reason is if you are caught driving a vehicle without insurance, you will be fined a minimum of $400 for the first offense. For the second offense within three years, the fine jumps up to $1000. The DLD, upon receiving notice that you were driving without insurance will in most instances require that you purchase SR22 insurance. In laymen's terms, your insurance rates will go through the roof, making the $400 or $1000 fine seem like pocket change. The charge is a class C misdemeanor and could put you in jail for up to 90 days. Ouch. If this does not motivate you to keep your vehicles insured, then keep reading.
The second reason you need insurance is in the off chance that you get involved in a wreck that happens to be your fault. Utah law requires that you maintain at least $25,000 of liability insurance and a $3000 PIP policy. This protects you from having to pay for minor collisions out of your own pocket. It also gives you built-in health insurance to cover that ER bill of up to $3000. Now if you have any experience with car wrecks or visits to the ER, you will quickly understand that $25,000 of damages and a $3000 medical bill is not very much coverage. These amounts are the minimums required by law. If you only have the minimum coverage, make sure you don't wreck into a Tesla, Mercedes, BMW, Audi, etc. If you do, it's going to be a very bad day/year for you.
So to avoid the unpleasantries, make sure you are insured. By the way, don't be stupid like I was in college. I didn't have very much money, so I would often pay my insurance guy a few days to a week late. Do you know what happens if you have an accident and "the check is in the mail?" Well, I will tell you, the insurance company will simply return the check and deny coverage. The lesson here is to get insurance and make sure you make your insurance payments on time.
Now, if you haven't followed the advice I just laid out for you, and you received a ticket or got in an accident, or both, you are going to need my services. The good news is that I can usually negotiate with the prosecutor on your behalf to avoid the more serious consequences. But if you keep driving without insurance, it will catch up with you. We at Jardine Law Offices have assisted hundreds of people who drove without insurance. We know how to help you. Call/text Jardine Law Offices, P.C. today so we can start defending you.