I'm sure it comes as no surprise to you that a driver's license is required in the State of Utah if you wish to drive a motorized vehicle on surface streets and highways. You can find the actual law here. U.C.A. 53-3-202 lists out all the details. But basically, you can apply for a driver's license when you are 16 years old and have met the other legal requirements. If you decide to drive without a license, and you get caught, you will be facing an infraction. The maximum penalty for an infraction in Utah is a $750 fine. An officer may also decide to impound your car if you are not careful, so better safe than sorry, don't drive unless you have a valid license.
As a side note, be sure to keep your correct address updated with the Driver's License Division (DLD). Sometimes they will send you a letter stating your license has been suspended or revoked. If you haven't kept up on your address, it's your problem, not theirs.
In most situations involving a first or second offense, we can either get the charge reduced or keep it off your record using a plea in abeyance. Call/text Jardine Law Offices, P.C. for further information.